Toggle Nav

RedHead Steering Gear Box - 1997-2011 Dodge Dakota - Non Snow Plow

- +
  • Fast and Free Shipping on orders over $99*
  • Available Monday - Friday 6AM - 6PM PST
  • No salesmen, Just Enthusiasts.
  • Bizrate Circle of Excellence Winner

Part #2548S. Fits all 1997 & UP Dodge Dakota & Durango. This gear is for the Models that have the NON-Snow Plow option. If your gear has an 83 casted in the housing then you need this gear. If it does not then you have the Snow Plow option so you want the gear 2548DSL. Starting in 1997 the Dodge Dakota came with the option of the Steering gear or a Rack and Pinion. Starting in 1999 the Dodge Durango switched to a Rack and Pinion.

Red-Head offers a porting option for those that are either already running a hydraulic assist steering, or plan to in the future. If you choose to make this upgrade to the box (from the drop down menu), your gear box will come with two pre-drilled and tapped ports with plugs. For clarification, hydraulic assist is NOT something your vehicle would have come from the factory with, rather it is an upgrade that adds a hydraulic ram to the steering linkage to aid in steering. Most vehicles do NOT have this option, thus if you are unsure if you have it, you probably do not.

You have the option for us to include a pre-paid return label. with the shipment for ease of returning your core. With this option, you will merely need to drop the re-packaged core with accompanying shipping label off at a UPS drop-off. Otherwise, it will be your responsibility to supply your own means of returning the core. Pre-paid return label option is only applicable to the lower 48 contiguous United States. Please contact us if you have any questions.

RedHead Steering Gear Box - 1997-2011 Dodge Dakota - Non Snow Plow fits the following vehicles:

  • 1997 Dodge Dakota
  • 1998 Dodge Dakota
  • 1999 Dodge Dakota
  • 2000 Dodge Dakota
  • 2001 Dodge Dakota
  • 2002 Dodge Dakota
  • 2003 Dodge Dakota
  • 2004 Dodge Dakota
  • 2005 Dodge Dakota
  • 2006 Dodge Dakota
  • 2007 Dodge Dakota
  • 2008 Dodge Dakota
  • 2009 Dodge Dakota
  • 2010 Dodge Dakota
  • 2011 Dodge Dakota
  • 2012 Dodge Dakota
  • 2012 Ram Dakota